What was the first album you ever bought?

I’ve been wanting to do something more with this blog than just post random songs we like.

So here it goes: Do you still remember the moment you walked into the store to buy your very first album with your allowance?

I’m not 100% sure if this was the first album I actually bought but the memory is still fresh in my mind. It was the summer before entering middle school and I was with my family at Pentagon City Mall. I was so excited that his latest album came out because I was such a die-hard fan of his music, just like many of the suburban kids in my age group. Once I entered the mall, I knew where to go. Across from the food court was Sam Goody (remember that store?!) and at the storefront were a rack of his albums.

The+Eminem+Show

I love this album

Yes, The Eminem Show. Around that age I was strictly hip hop or some hip hop-rock hybrid and Eminem was the champion of them all.

I thought there was some law or something that required a parent to purchase albums with Parental Advisory stickers, but I guess there isn’t. Picturing myself buying this album is now a funny thought, considering I was this skinny kid wearing huge glasses (think Arthur the Aardvark) and braces with the bands and it looks like I’d be coding and hacking software on my spare time. I’m surprised my parents didn’t mind me playing music like his in the house on full blast in my room with all the vulgarity. Hey, I think I grew up with my mind intact.

So that was the first album I recall purchasing! I personally think it’s his most cohesive and complete album in his discography, but it isn’t my most favorite (it’s the Slim Shady LP for me!).

How about you? Was your first album purchase memorable?

5 thoughts on “What was the first album you ever bought?

  1. I think the first album I purchased with my own money was “8701” by Usher. I was so damn excited that I opened it in the car. And we didn’t have a CD player in our car. I just wanted to look at it, haha.

  2. The first album I bought (that wasn’t a cassette tape) was Backstreet Boys’ Millenium. lol.

  3. omgoodness..i don’t even remember. i always shared CDs with my family.
    The Sam Goody is now an Express at pentagon city. womp womp

  4. I’m gonna go with Savage Garden’s self-titled album. What in the world was I thinking…

    Either that or the Rugrats Movie Soundtrack!

  5. I used to listen to that album but I just borrowed it from my classmate. I was already in Grade 6 back then! The first ever album that I owned was Spice Girls’ Spice World…but I think the first one I bought with my own money (saved from baon) was The Moffats’ Chapter One: A New Beginning…

Leave a Reply

