[Music Video] Mayer Hawthorne – Reach Out Richard

Richard, you told me all I need to know
But there’s some things you can’t prepare for
All I ever want to do
Is be as good a man as you

Mayer Hawthorne, I doubt I will ever stop raving about your consistently great music.

This track is the most personal song he has penned to date once you realize that Richard is his father’s name. He was even hesitant to keep this on the album because of its emotional connection. As one of the four tracks produced by Pharrell Williams (I’ve mentioned it on this blog before…this has been the Year of the Pharrell. #newrules what?), Pharrell has stated that this was his most favorite track on MH’s album.

It’s a song that every son can relate to once he feels he’s reached an age of wanting independence. The chorus, especially, highlights this thought, and can even be broadened to any child teetering on the line between adolescence and adulthood:

So don’t you be concerned, the kid’s alright
I’ve got to live and learn
The kid’s alright
I know that you will see
The kid’s alright
I’ll find my way eventually

I can’t wait to see this dude perform live (finally)!

Leave a Reply

