[Music Video] Phosphorescent – Song For Zula

I’ll be attempting (keyword) to highlight some of my favorite artists/songs/albums I’ve discovered in 2013 over the course of the week or so.

First off, singer-songwriter Matthew Houck aka Phosphorescent. I’m only familiar with his most recent album release, Muchacho De Lujo, which I eventually bought a physical copy of. His voice in many of the songs sounds vulnerable, yet it works and it actually sounds pleasant to me.

Some say love is a burning thing
That it makes a fiery ring
Oh but I know love as a fading thing
Just as fickle as a feather in a stream
See, honey, I saw love. You see, it came to me
It put its face up to my face so I could see
Yeah then I saw love disfigure me
Into something I am not recognizing

This particular song, Song For Zula….man, I don’t know how to describe it. The production sounds ethereal. Slight 80s feel. Like there’s supposed to be wild horses running in slow motion on the beach. Or I’m supposed to be watching a time lapse of clouds. Like I just entered Narnia and now I’m exploring and whatnot. LOL. Anyway, this song is simply beautiful to listen to.

Bonus: Ya Hey (Vampire Weekend Cover)

I love this song and I love this cover!

 

Leave a Reply

