My Current Car CD Rotation – March 2014

I usually play my iPod when I’m cruising in my car. If I have to resort to radio for some reason, I stick to sports radio. Can’t stand what’s being played on the radio most of the time.

Here’s my current CD rotation, which changes every few weeks.

Marc Broussard – S.O.S.: Save Our Soul [2007]

marcbroussard

If you don’t know this guy, I suggest you check him out. Dude’s got SOUL! This is Broussard’s follow-up to his major label debut Carencro. The album only featured one original song with the rest covers. I don’t think the album is anything special – he doesn’t try to do anything risky with his covers – but it’s nice to hear an artist you look perform covers of songs you like. I personally find myself playing I Love You More Than You’ll Ever Know on repeat.

Louis Logic – Sin-A-Matic [2003]

I’ve been wondering for the longest time what ever happened to this dude. He was a member of the underground hip hop group The Demigodz and released some incredible material during my high school days. I did a quick Google search and discovered he actually released a new album last November, 7 years after his last release. A really long time! Also, I found out he’s at SXSW. I’m glad he’s still around. When this album came out, people were quick to compare him to Eminem because of his vulgar, zany, I-don’t-give-a-what style. But if there’s something that he does better than Em is his witty storytelling. This album is a certified classic to me, listening to it more than 10 years later. Tracks are still fresh to me.

Some of my favorite tracks from this album:
Coochie Coup – This song is SOOOO inappropriate. What’s starts with the letter C…? But oh my gosh, too clever…I don’t recommend this track for the easily offended and squeamish. The sample is genius. If you dare, click play…

The Ugly Truth – You seriously got to listen to this track. You’ll be thinking “WTF” the entire time and then….well, you gotta listen to it while reading the lyrics. A very clever track.
Fair Weather Fan – OMG, this track takes me back. Were you ever a member of a band’s message boards? MESSAGE BOARDS? Do people use forums nowadays? I was an avid member of one music group’s message boards back in middle/high school and this song got me reminiscing. I love the production and the AIM sounds….ahhhh, nostalgia!
I love this part:

When underground records come with three choices
They can’t spit
You can’t understand it
Or it’s punks with weak voices
And you rejoice at three joints of the 20 tracks, only some were phat
Then you wish you had your money back
There’ll be none of that in my wax or stage show
I make extra sure to stay dope, I’m spittin for your pesos
And kick them on the same flow to show you that I’m anti-wack
Whether indie or major and there ain’t too many fans like that

Sugarfree – Tala-Arawan [2006]

Tala-arawan means ‘diary’ in English. If you want to get all sentimental and maybe shed a few tears (or thousands), just play some Sugarfree. Whenever I visit The Philippines, I always buy a bunch of albums before heading back home and I copped this joint. I have to say the packaging of this album is pretty neat and creative. The band had a run for about a decade until they broke up in 2011.

Favorite tracks: Salamin, Wari Ko’y, Wag Ka Nang Umiyak, Ikaw Pala (All these songs make me feel so sappyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy.)

Kung wala ka nang maintindihan
Kung wala ka nang makapitan
Kapit ka sa akin, kapit ka sa akin
Di kita bibitawan

Oh gosh, my heart.

The Pharcyde – Bizarre Ride II The Pharcyde [1992]

THIS is one of my favorite hip hop albums of ALL TIME. I was fortunate enough to attend their concert last year when they visited DC and watched them perform this album in its entirety. But really it was only two of the members and their friends performing because for some reason they all aren’t on good terms or something??? Whatever, I had a blast and got to meet Fatlip. I read something online about how this album didn’t really receive much hype or praise when it was first released. That’s crazy! I love this entire album. Although they were pretty silly in most of their tracks, they also showed a serious side to them, which became even more present on their sophomore album. I LOVE THE PHARCYDE. I LOVE ALL THE TRACKS.

One of the few hip hop songs I know all the words to, a song about unrequited love and a song that strongly relates to something that happened to me back in high school: Passin’ Me By

Leave a Reply

