What I’m Diggin’ – 2016 January Edition

When I allot myself time, I’ll handpick some albums and songs that I’ve been diggin’ over the month. Here’s January!

Albums

The thing about albums is that I really have to consume them over a length of time to give an opinion on it. I wasn’t heavy into listening into albums this January…HOWEVA! I did give a couple go-arounds with Anderson .Paak’s Malibu

Do yourself a favor and go listen to that funky goodness!

spotify:album:4VFG1DOuTeDMBjBLZT7hCK

Songs

I had a lot of time to listen to catch up on music and listen to new singles this month. Don’t expect a list this long on the regular now with school in session again!
Some notes I made:

  • The Gallant cover Sufjan Stevens’ song is SO BEAUTIFUL. Had to fight back tears LOL.
  • Also had to fight tears with the Cadet song.
  • Carly Rae Jepsen, I’m sorry for not listening to your album any sooner.
  • Isaiah Rashad has the best hip hop single so far in 2016.
  • Anything Tom Misch touches is gold.
  • #YEEZYSEASON is approaching!
  • Panic! At The Disco is now a one-man band. Impressive!

Ben L’Oncle Soul – So Hard To Find

Birdy – Keeping Your Head Up

BJ The Chicago Kid – Woman’s World

Cadet – Stereotype

And besides that yeah I got my mum
God knows she don’t get the love she deserves
And no I ain’t been the best son
No excuse that I give is a good enough reason
Phone me just to feel like she’s a part of my life or just to see if I’m eating
And yeah it’s fucked how I treat my mum
And them choices I made are dumb
But still she’ll stand up in front of a crowd of people and be like ‘he’s my son’

Fuuuuuuuuuuuuh.

Carly Rae Jepsen – Run Away With Me

Diddy – Everyday (Amor) (feat. Jadakiss, Styles P, Pusha T, & Tish)

Erykah Badu – Hello (feat. Andre 3000)

Gallant x Sufjan Stevens – Blue Bucket Of Gold

Hurt Everybody – Stay Awake (feat. Mick Jenkins & Twista)

Isaiah Rashad – Smile

Jidenna – Knickers

Kali Uchis – Ridin Round

Kanye West – No More Parties in LA (feat. Kendrick Lamar) / Real Friends (feat. Ty Dolla $ign)

The Game & Skrillex – El Chapo

Melanie Fiona – I Want It All

Panic! At The Disco – Emperor’s New Clothes

Pusha T – M.P.A. (feat. Kanye West, A$ap Rocky, The-Dream)

Tom Misch – In The Midst Of It All (feat. Sam Wills)

 

If you’re usually in the mood to discover new music or you are open-minded, feel free to follow my playlists on Spotify or Soundcloud.

Leave a Reply

